Frequently Asked Questions

How can I become an Institute Faculty member?

Each year the board solicits presentation proposals for the annual summer Institute. We anticipate the 2022 Call for proposals to open no later than January 2022. Sign up for our mailing list so you don't miss the latest news or announcements.

Will the 2022 Institute be in-person or virtual?

At this time we are planning to host both in-person and virtual activities. We are watching the COVID-19 situation closely and expect to announce final decisions in early 2022. 

2021 Institute Faculty

Miles Adcox

Proprietor and Chairman, Onsite
Cumberland Furnace, Tennessee

Jeffrey A. Ahonen, MAC, MDiv, LPC-IT, SAC-IT

Chief Executive Officer, The Just Community
Ladysmith, Wisconsin

Christy Alten-Osmera, MS, LAC, NCC LPCMH

Adolescent Program Director and Therapist, Keystone Treatment Center
Canton, South Dakota

Joseph M. Amico, M.Div., LADC-I, CAS

Secretary, NALGAP (The Association of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Addiction Professionals and their Allies)
Salem, Massachusetts

Gregory P. DeLapp, MHS, CEAP

CEO, Employee Assistance Professionals Association (EAPA)
Arlington, Virginia

Sherri Downing

Senior Program Manager, Advocates for Human Potential, Inc.
Helena, Montana

Chris Edrington

Owner,  St. Paul Sober Living
St. Paul, Minnesota

Daniel Frigo, PhD, LICSW

Professor, Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School of Addiction Studies
Center City, Minnesota

Phillip M. Galli, MA

Visiting Assistant Professor University of Wisconsin – River Falls
River Falls, Wisconsin

Joseph M. Garbely, D.O., DFASAM, FAPA

EVP/Chief Medical Officer Caron Treatment Centers
Wernersville, Pennsylvania

Seven Graham (they/their)Dip Coun. BA Anth/Comms

Therapist, Coach, Producer, Writer and World 1st Stand-up comic
7 Graham Solutions
Los Angeles, California

Renee N. Harrington, MS, E-RYT 500

Lecturer, NC State University
Raleigh, North Carolina

Drew Horowitz

CEO/Owner, Gateway Recovery Center
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota

Norma D. Jaeger, Ph.D. ABD

Executive Director, Recovery Idaho. Inc, A Statewide Recovery Community Organization
Meridian, Idaho

Julie Kay Karsky

YogaFit Certified Yoga Instructor, S.O.A.R. Certified (Success Over Addiction and Relapse)
Yoga Instructor, Yoga with Julie
St. Croix Falls, Wisconsin

Riley D. Keenan, BS

Program Director of Coordinated Assessment and Kaleidoscope Advocate, Center For Family Services
Camden, New Jersey

Kimberly J. Kitzberger

Treatment Court Coordinator, St. Croix County
Hudson, Wisconsin


Trainer, Wisconsin Council on Problem Gambling
Kenosha, Wisconsin

John McAndrew

Motivational Speaker and Recording Artist
Cumberland Heights Treatment Centers
Nashville, Tennessee

Lizzy McGlothlin

Director of Business Development,
Cumberland Furnace, Tennessee

Paul N. McKenzie, PhD

Executive Director, Southeast Center for Strategic Community Development
Lancaster, South Carolina

Paul Mladnick, MS, LADC, LMFT

Counselor, Bridges and Pathways Counseling Services
Forest Lake, Minnesota

Jerry M. Moore

President of the Board 1 Drum Solutions, Inc.
Mason, Wisconsin

Matthew Mortinson

Executive Director St. Paul Sober Living
St. Paul, Minnesota

Nikola C. Moyer, LADC, MALP

Center City, Minnesota

Melissa N Niedfeldt, MA, LPC, CSAC, PS-IT, CDBT

Mental Health/Addictions Therapist, North Central Health Care
Wausau, Wisconsin

CC Nuckols, PhD

President, Cardwell C. Nuckols & Assoc. LLC
Longwood, Florida

Dee S. Owens, MPA

Social and Behavioral Health Team, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Arlington, Virginia

Kristina Padilla M.A., IMF, LAADC, ICAADC, CGS

Director of Business Development & Education at the California Consortium of Addiction Programs & Professionals (CCAPP)
Sacramento, California

DeAnne Priddis, PhD

Assistant Professor of Communications, Middle Tennessee State University
Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jim Printup, MA, CEAP

President, The Oasis Group,  and President – EAPA Upper Midwest Chapter
Edina, Minnesota

Kenneth L. Roberts, MPS, LADC, LPCC

Chief Clinical Officer, NUWAY
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Dianne Sullivan, MA, CSAC, LADC

Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation
Center City, Minnesota

Rev. James E. Swarthout, M. Div., MSW, CAADC, CIP

Behavioral Health and Foundation Director, Addiction Medicine, Amita Health

Margaret A. Swift Thompson, MS, LADC, CTA Certified Coach

Family Addiction Specialist, Embrace Family Recovery LLC
Osceola, Wisconsin